I never thought I would live to see World War III in my life time.

Durwin Ho
3 min readFeb 28, 2022

--

World leaders should be extra prudent when it comes to international issues.

Elon Musk activates Starlink satellite internet for Ukraine”

A whale just made a $3m crypto donation to a Ukrainian Charity”

Russia’s Putin authorises ‘special military operation’ against Ukraine”

Russian forces launch full-scale invasion of Ukraine”

Ukraine Tweeted Its Crypto Wallet, And Got $4 Million In Donations To Help Fight Russia”

“Russian forces takes over Chernobyl zone”

“‘I Need Ammo, Not a Ride’: How Ukraine’s President Rallied a Nation”

“From a historian to a paragliding instructor, Ukrainian residents are taking up arms to defend their country.”

Ukrainian man offers to tow Russian soldiers’ tank back to Russia after it runs out of fuel”

13 Ukrainian border guards killed after telling Russian warship to ‘go f**k yourself’”

Klitschko brothers, former heavyweight boxing champions, to take up arms for Ukraine”

Russia Just Got Kicked Out of Eurovision for Invading Ukraine”

Removal of Russian banks from SWIFT system: 5 things to know”

Poland, Sweden refuse to play Russia in World Cup playoffs”

I summarised the top headlines related to Ukraine/Russia in my newsfeed and this is what I ended up with.

And this is just for the week since Putin’s fateful decision to carry out a “Special Operation” in Ukraine.

My newsfeed on all my social media is flooded with news on the war.

No matter where you live, what you do or what you think, war in any country, affects us all.

I never thought I would live to see WWIII in my lifetime.

Not in the era where influencers can make a living by dancing on Tiktok, where Snoop Dogg and Martha Stewart are best friends, where crypto is finally mainstream, jpegs are selling for millions, where the age of AI is ripening and even the leaders of North and South Korea can shake hands.

I don’t wish to see a World War.

Not any war.

Wars are destructive, costly and meaningless.

The ones who suffer, I mean really suffer, are the innocent and the ones who are just following orders.

So true yet so painful.

“I’m fed up to the ears with old men dreaming up wars for young men to die in.” — George McGovern.

This is the painful reality we live in.

Everyone knows the price of wars.

Yet we wage them, in hope of peace and “freedom”.

Sī vīs pācem, parā bellum.

“If you want peace, prepare for war”.

It seems Putin took it literally and started a war with Ukraine despite pleas from literally every other nation not to.

No one seems to be on Putin’s side.

Everyone is talking about Ukraine, how they are suffering and how Russia is the bully.

I have lived long enough to know there are two sides to every story.

So what is Putin’s real story?

-

#startups #business #startupx #growth #success #socialmedia #culture #entrepreneurship #strategy #ukraine #russia #war #crypto #NFT #freeukraine #putin #military #peace

--

--

Durwin Ho

CEO of StartupX | Web3.0, Crypto, DeFi, NFT Enthusiast |HyperX Sustainability Hackcelerator | Startup Weekend Singapore.